Our People

Our People

Clergy Administration Membership Development Youth and Teens Sholom Sprouts Program & Engagement Marketing & Communications Operations Business Office & HR Information Technology Facilities


Rabbi Benjamin H. Spratt

Senior Rabbi

Cantor Shayna De Lowe

Senior Cantor

Rabbi Juliana S. Karol

Associate Rabbi

Rabbi Deborah S. Goldberg

Assistant Rabbi

Rabbi Mira Weller

Assistant Rabbi

Cantor Stefano L. Iacono

Assistant Cantor

Emily Hoolihan

Cantorial Intern

Shoshana Nambi

Rabbinic Intern

Rabbi Robert Levine

Rabbi Emeritus

Jessica Adducchio

Clergy Chief of Staff

Joanna Schutzer

Executive Manager to Senior Clergy


Barbara Zakin

Executive Director

Clara Gamsu

Assistant to the Executive Director and Operations Director


Ruth Bernstein

Director of Membership

Helena Kelly

B’nai Mitzvah Experience Manager

Lennart Nielsen

Membership Assistant


Ron Epstein

Director of Development

Alex Arbeitel

Development and Engagement Officer

Nora Alexander

Development Associate

Youth and Teens

Kerith Braunfeld

Director of Religious Education and Youth

Marcia Stein

Associate Director of Religious Education and Youth

Jessica Cohen

Associate Director of Religious Education

Juliet Fixel

Assistant Director of Youth and Teen Engagement

Melody Kromenacker

Education Program Coordinator

Laisa Garcia

Religious Education and Youth Administrative Assistant

Sholom Sprouts

Lisa Schiff

Director of Sholom Sprouts

Engagement and Program

Scott Hertz

Director of Engagement and Program

Jordan Bland

Program Coordinator

Khiarra Johnston

Program Administrative Associate

Marketing and Communications

Scott Hertz

Director of Engagement and Program

Yvette Perry

Communications Editor

Ashley Zander

Marketing and Communications Coordinator


Rachael Evans

Operations Director

Clara Gamsu

Assistant to the Executive Director and Operations Director

Kathleen Reina

Operations Associate

Business Office & Human Resources

Marc Fried

Chief Financial Officer

Hillary Deutsch

Director of Human Resources

Brian Halber


Rebekha Bhagwandin

Senior Accountant

Lystra Manick-Singh

Accounting Manager

Anerci Marte

Human Resources Generalist

Brian Friedrich

A/R Specialist

Endily Garcia

Staff Accountant

Shireen Soobrian

Disbursements Coordinator

Information Technology

Max Schwartzur

IT Director

Josh Abramovitz

IT Technician


Wilton Pineda

Assistant Director of Facilities

Homary Veloz

Afternoon Supervisor

Sabrina Rivera

Facilities Assistant

The Board of Trustees is responsible for oversight of the management and operations of the Congregation including financial affairs, the physical plant and assets, Union Field Cemetery, setting of membership dues and facilities fees, making personnel decisions on employee compensation, benefits, terms and conditions as well as evaluations; and finally determining matters concerning the mode of religious worship and services, in consultation with Clergy. To receive additional information about the Board of Trustees at Congregation Rodeph Sholom, please contact Barbara Zakin, Executive Director, at (646) 454-3010 or email bzakin@crsnyc.org.

Congregation Rodeph Sholom

Peter Ehrenberg, President
Stacy Kanter, Treasurer
Judith Gallent, Assistant Treasurer
Cara Lown, Vice President
Andrea Kretchmer, Vice President
Eileen Kleiman, Vice President
Annette Orenstein, Vice President
Suzanne Waltman, Vice President
Robert Steinman, Chair of the Board

Benjamin H. Spratt, Senior Rabbi
Juliana Karol, Associate Rabbi
Deborah S. Goldberg, Assistant Rabbi
Mira Weller, Assistant Rabbi
Shoshana Nambi, Rabbinic Intern
Shayna De Lowe, Senior Cantor
Stefano L. Iacono, Assistant Cantor
Emily Hoolihan, Cantorial Intern
Robert N. Levine D.D., Rabbi Emeritus
Barbara Zakin, Executive Director
Marc S. Fried, Chief Financial Officer
Danny Karpf, Head of School
Kerith Braunfeld, Director of Religious Education and Youth
Ruth Bernstein, Director of Membership
Scott Hertz, Director of Engagement and Program
Lisa Schiff, Director of Sholom Sprouts


Scott Alter
Dina Bakst
Richard Barasch
Eric Berman
Scott Bernstein
Candice Braun
Jason Bruck
Janet Cohen
Joli Golden
Robin Kranich

Eileen Kleiman
Brian Perman
Jeff Ravetz
Adam Rosman
Beth Rubin
Michael Sand
Kim Zinn

Past Presidents

Marty Flumenbaum, Past President
Karen L. Berman, Past President
Mark Biderman, Past President
Jack Levitt, Past President
Roger Meltzer, Past President
Nancy F. Solomon, Past President

Honorary Officers

Paul A. Biddelman
J. Roger Friedman
Mary Sue Harkavy
Mark R. Joseph
Seymour H. Lesser
Beverly Miller
Stephen J. Pearlman

Honorary Tustees

Sandra Abramson
Mitchell Bayer
Joseph Diamond
Hon. Helen Freedman
Lawrence S. Goldman
Arnold Harkavy
Richard (Sandy) Harman
Arlene Kossoff
Jay A. Kranis
Marvin Lesser

George Lowry
Barbara Lustig
Richard A. Lustig
Jay M. Newman
Dr. Adela Oliver
Janie Roher
Mack Rossoff
Peter J. Strauss
Arthur Zuckerman