Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is responsible for oversight of the management and operations of the Congregation including financial affairs, the physical plant and assets, Union Field Cemetery, setting of membership dues and facilities fees, making personnel decisions on employee compensation, benefits, terms and conditions as well as evaluations; and finally determining matters concerning the mode of religious worship and services, in consultation with Clergy.

To receive additional information about the Board of Trustees at Congregation Rodeph Sholom, please contact Barbara Zakin, Executive Director, at (646) 454-3010 or email

Congregation Rodeph Sholom

Robert Steinman, President
Peter Ehrenberg, Vice President
Harry Frischer, Vice President
Judith Gallent, Vice President
Andrea Kretchmer, Vice President
David Markus, Vice President
Denise Sobel, Vice President
Robert Steinman, Treasurer
Stacy Kanter, Assistant Treasurer
Martin Flumenbaum, Chair of the Board
Janet Neuberger, Hon. President for Life
Karen L. Berman, Past President
Mark Biderman, Past President
Jack Levitt, Past President
Roger Meltzer, Past President
Nancy Solomon, Past President

Robert N. Levine D.D., Senior Rabbi
Benjamin H. Spratt, Associate Rabbi
Greg D. Weitzman, Assistant Rabbi
Juli Karol, Rabbinic Intern
Rebecca Garfein, Senior Cantor
Shayna De Lowe, Associate Cantor
Julie Womack, Cantorial Intern
Ephraim Biran, Cantor Emeritus
Barbara Zakin, Executive Director
Marc S. Fried, Chief Financial Officer
Danny Karpf, Head of School
Kerith Braunfeld, Director of Religious Education and Youth
Lyndsie Levine, Development Director


Scott Alter
Dina Bakst
Richard Barasch
Eric Berman
Ron Bernstein
Susan Sarnoff Bram
Dr. Nancy Crown
John Gassner
Eileen Kleiman
David Kranich
Amy Lipin
Douglas Lowey

Cara Lown
Marilyn Mauler
Jeff Ravetz
Beth Rubin
Dr. Helen Towers-Weiss
Susan Wasserstein
Suzanne Waltman
Rachel Zweighaft

Honorary Officers

Paul A. Biddelman
J. Roger Friedman
Mary Sue Harkavy
Mark R. Joseph
Seymour H. Lesser

Jack Lichtenstein
Beverly Miller
Stephen J. Pearlman

Honorary Members of the Board

Sandra Abramson
Mitchell Bayer
Donald Billinkoff
Joseph Diamond
Hon. Helen Freedman
Lawrence S. Goldman
Arnold Harkavy
Richard Harman
James Berry Hill
Arlene Kossoff
Jay A. Kranis
Albert C. Lasher

Marvin Lesser
George Lowry
Barbara Lustig
Richard A. Lustig
Justin D. Miller
Richard Neuberger
Jay M. Newman
Dr. Adela Oliver
Janie Roher
Mack Rossoff
Peter J. Strauss
Arthur Zuckerman